Tag Archives: United Arab Emirates

UAE/Saudi Arabia: HRW Slams Gulf Crackdown on Dissent, ‘Unfair Trials’

November 1, 2016

Human Rights Watch logo

Human Rights Watch on Tuesday slammed a “well-funded” clampdown on Gulf Arab rights activists and urged the six monarchies to implement “much-needed reforms” instead of jailing peaceful critics.

The New York-based watchdog made its latest call for reform in Gulf Cooperation Council states as it launched an interactive website with the profiles of 140 prominent Gulf activists  — reflecting Twitter’s 140-character limit — who have been arrested, tried and sentenced for voicing their opinions online over the past six years.

They include prominent Bahraini activist Nabeel Rajab, who is on trial on charges of “spreading false information and posting online insults,” and Saudi activist Waleed Abulkhair who is serving a 15-year jail sentence.

Also among those listed is Emirati lawyer Mohammed al-Roken, who was jailed in 2013 with 69 people for 15 years after being convicted of plotting to overthrow the regime.

“The Gulf states have engaged in a systematic and well-funded assault on free speech to subvert the potentially transformative impact of social media and internet technology,” said HRW’s Middle East director Sarah Leah Whitson.



https://www.hrw.org/fr/news/2016/11/01/etats-du-golfe-repression-contre-140-activistes-diffusant-des-tweets-de-140 (FRANCAIS)

http://it.euronews.com/2016/11/01/hrw-denuncia-le-violazioni-dei-diritti-umani-nel-golfo (ITALIANO)

https://www.hrw.org/ar/news/2016/11/01/295650 (ARABIC)


United Arab Emirates: Observatoire international des avocats en danger : soutien au Dr.Mohammed Abdullah Al-Roken, avocat émirati, éminent défenseur des droits de l’Homme

Conseil national des barreaux

L’Observatoire tient à apporter son entier soutien au Dr. Mohammed Abdullah Al-Roken, avocat émirati engagé dans la promotion des droits de l’Homme et des libertés fondamentales, détenu depuis 2012 pour avoir œuvré pour la protection des droits de l’Homme et la défense des prisonniers d’opinion.

Le Dr. Mohammed Abdullah Al-Roken a été arbitrairement arrêté le 16 juillet 2012 alors qu’il allait signaler la disparition de son fils et de son gendre à la police, puis détenu dans une prison secrète où il a été torturé, maltraité, et maintenu à l’isolement jusqu’à son jugement.

La Cour de sûreté de l’Etat des Emirats Arabes Unis l’a condamné à une peine de 10 ans d’emprisonnement pour avoir « conspiré contre le gouvernement » à l’issue d’un procès inéquitable et politique de masse en juillet 2013. Dans cette affaire, 94 personnes ont été jugés, dont des dizaines de militants et défenseurs des droits humains, juges, universitaires, leader étudiants et avocats. Tous avaient, avant leur arrestation, pacifiquement appelé à davantage de droits et libertés, notamment le droit de vote aux élections parlementaires. Le Dr. Mohammed Abdullah Al-Roken était d’ailleurs l’un des 133 signataires d’une pétition adressée aux autorités du pays en mars 2011.

Lors de ce procès, les juges émiratis n’ont pas examiné les allégations de torture et de mauvais traitements dénoncés par les accusés et ont justifié leurs condamnations par des aveux obtenus sous la torture en violation de la Convention contre la torture et autres peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants, pourtant ratifiée par les Emirats Arabes Unis en 2012.

Le Dr. Mohammed Abdullah Al-Roken est un juriste militant reconnu et estimé, ancien président des juristes des Emirats Arabes Unis, et membre d’Amnesty International dont il est le principal contact aux Emirats. Il a été, compte tenu de son engagement, finaliste pour le Prix « Front line Defenders » en 2014 et a reçu le Prix Alkarama pour les défenseurs des droits de l’Homme en 2012.


Statement: Interactive Dialogue with the UN Special Rapporteur on Human Rights Defenders, 31st Session of the UN Human Rights Council | Joint Statement

March 7, 2016

The following joint oral statement by Lawyers’ Rights Watch Canada and Asian Legal Resource Centre was submitted but was among the statements of  eleven NGOs that could not be delivered during the Interactive Dialogue with the United Nations Special Rapporteur on the Situation of Human Rights Defenders at the 31st session of the Human Rights Council (HRC) due to time constraints of the HRC.

Joint Oral Statement to the 31st Session of the UN Human Rights Council from Lawyers’ Rights Watch Canada (LRWC), a non-governmental organizations in Special Consultative status and the Asian Legal Resource Centre (ALRC), a non-governmental organizations in General Consultative status

Mr. President,

Lawyers’ Rights Watch Canada and the Asian Legal Resource Centre welcome the report of the Special Rapporteur on the situation of Human Rights Defenders.[1] Our work confirms Mr. Forst’s observations of the many serious challenges facing defenders; we highlight three of those concerns.

States increasingly use laws that are non-compliant with international human rights standards that delegitimize or criminalize the work of defenders, subjecting them to surveillance, prosecutions, arbitrary arrests and detention, and restricted rights to freedoms of expression, assembly and association. Many states prosecute defenders, including lawyers, for exercising rights including Thailand,[2] Malaysia,[3] Cambodia,[4] and shockingly States that are members of this Council — China,[5] Saudi Arabia,[6] Bangladesh,[7] the United Arab Emirates and Viet Nam.[8]

Statement: Interactive Dialogue with the UN Special Rapporteur on Human Rights Defenders, 31st Session of the UN Human Rights Council | Joint Statement

UAE: Free Human Rights Lawyer Mohammed Al Roken

A well-known and respected human rights lawyer, Mohammed is serving his second year of a ten-year jail sentence – simply for doing his job and defending human rights.

12 April marks a thousand days since the UAE jailed Mohammed for speaking up for human rights and criticising the increasingly repressive regime there. Tell Dubai’s ruler that you support Mohammed, and demand his release.


UAE: Open letter to His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum from IBAHRI and Amnesty International

The International Bar Association’s Human Rights Institute and Amnesty International have penned an open letter to His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum expressing grave concern about the continuing imprisonment of human rights lawyer and law professor Dr Mohammed al-Roken in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The IBAHRI and Amnesty International consider him a prisoner of conscience who has been imprisoned solely for peacefully exercising his rights to freedom of expression and association, including his work as a human rights lawyer defending and promoting the human rights and fundamental freedoms of others.

The joint letter reminds His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum of his responsibility to protect the rights of lawyers in the UAE as they carry out their professional duties, and calls for the immediate release of Dr Mohammed al-Roken.


See also: http://www.middleeasteye.net/news/human-rights-groups-urge-uae-release-jailed-rights-lawyer-630758236

UAE: United Arab Emirates: Stop the Charade and Release Activists Convicted at the Mass UAE 94 Trial | Joint Statement

On the second anniversary of the start of the mass “UAE 94” trial that imprisoned dozens of government critics and reform activists in the United Arab Emirates (UAE), including prominent human rights defenders, judges, academics, and student leaders, a coalition of 13 organizations calls on the UAE government to release immediately and unconditionally all those imprisoned solely for peacefully exercising their rights to freedom of expression and association following this grossly unfair trial, as well as those who remain detained or imprisoned for publicizing concerns about it.