May 28, 2018

#Image result for leila de lima

Amnesty International Philippines on 28 May, on the occasion of its movement’s 57th anniversary, formally announced the recipients of its Ignite Awards for Human Rights – an award, first of its kind, given to Human Rights Defenders (HRDs) to recognize the impact brought about by their work in changing peoples’ lives through policy advocacy, mobilization and activism.

“We live in very challenging circumstances for justice and human rights, with battles over natural resources, rising inequality, increasing movement of people within and across borders, ongoing crises and conflicts, and unlawful actions by states against its citizens. Despite these, people always come together in solidarity with the help of individuals and organizations who are in the forefront of our fight for our rights,” said Ritz Lee Santos, Board Chairperson of Amnesty Philippines.

Amnesty opened the nominations publicly shortly after it launched Ignite Awards in 2017, and took a year to process all the finalists. Ignite Awards for Human Rights has three categories – Most Outstanding Human Rights Defenders for Individuals and Organizations, Outstanding Young Human Rights Defender and Art that Matters.

“We are very lucky to have a prestigious set of Board of Judges for two rounds of awarding seasons. The Chairperson of the Board of Judges is human rights lawyer and advocate, Atty. Jose Manuel Diokno. For members, we have Aurora Corazon Parong, M.D., member of the Human Rights Victims Claims Board (HRVCB) and Amnesty Philippines’ former Director; Bayang Barrios, singer, artist and indigenous peoples and women’s rights advocate. Two non-Filipino members of the Board of Judges include Dr. Khoo Ying Hooi, a human rights advocate and Senior Lecturer at the University of Malaya and the fifth seat filled by a senior manager from Amnesty International’s South East Asia and the Pacific Regional Office. Their criteria for judging are impact for human rights work at 40%, coverage of human rights work at 40%, and credibility at 20%,” explained Santos.

The recipient for Most Distinguished Human Rights Defender for Individual is Senator Leila De Lima; for Most Distinguished Human Rights Defender for Organization, DAKILA – Philippine Collective for Modern Heroism. Recipient for Outstanding Young Human Rights Defender is Floyd Scott Tiogangco and for Art that Matters for Film, Christia Angela Roque. The recipients will be awarded on 2 June 2018 at the Luxent Hotel in Quezon City.

“Across the world, HRDs are risking everything to speak out against injustice. They are student leaders, political opponents, teachers, lawyers, journalists, women’s rights & environmental defenders. They are persecuted, harassed, tortured, jailed and even killed – just for daring to stand up for what’s right. Amnesty International Philippines would like to change that. It is not a crime to be brave.” Santos said. (FRANCAIS)


Posted by Leila de Lima on Monday, May 28, 2018

Image may contain: 1 person, text

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: