Nigeria: Update on human rights lawyer Franc Utoo

July 10, 2017

Image may contain: 17 people, people smiling, people standing and suit

Image may contain: 1 person, sitting and indoor

Image may contain: 3 people, people smiling, suit and outdoor

Image may contain: 6 people, people smiling, people standing, suit and outdoor

Image may contain: 5 people, people smiling, people standing, suit and outdoor

Image may contain: 6 people, people smiling, people standing and suit

Image may contain: 5 people, people smiling, people standing, suit and indoor

THANK YOU ALL!

Earlier today, I was arraigned before the Magistrate Court 2, Makurdi, Benue State, by the Commissioner of Police based on the petition filed against me by the Benue State APC Chairman, one Abba Yaro (who was absent in court) and represented by E. S. Irabor.

I was granted bail on SELF- RECOGNIZANCE and case adjourned to September 9 for trial.

I want to use this opportunity to appreciate hundreds of supporters who defiled the early morning rain in Makurdi and physically appeared in court to express solidarity and inspiration. I want to particularly thank one of Nigeria’s greatest lawyers, Jibril S Okutepa, who, pro bono, led a team of 18 other lawyers to defend me. They include, but not restricted to: my big brother and senior, Terhemen Oscar Aorabee; Dr. (Lolo) Ekpendu; ex Chairman of NBA Makurdi branch, Assoh MikeKelvin Iorzenda, Dan Sorkaa, etc.

I also wish to thank my political father and leader, Rt. Hon Avine Agbom(House of Assembly Member, Makurdi North) and Hon. Terseer Adzuu(House of Assembly Member for Guma), the Makurdi Hausa Forum APC leadership; former APC Chairman for Guma, Samue Ioraor Mtan etc.

I am infinitely grateful to all my friends like Modi Jonathan, Comrade Shighen, Isaiah Abah, Hon. Wuaga Isaac, Tarbunde Joshua, Comrade Bobby, Alex TyonongoJebu Solomon, etc for their encouragement. And to my last woman standing, Dr. Margaret Bai- Tachia (my dearest auntie), God bless you all and guide your paths.

Gracias!

(Facebook)

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

